Hold'em and Omaha: the difference and similarity of popular disciplines

Many modern players are interested in the question "What is the difference between Hold'em and Omaha?" This is not surprising, because the disciplines are very popular and easily collect tables for real money on the Internet. The first thing that comes to mind is the obvious fact that in Hold'em the starting hand consists of two cards, while in Omaha right away out of four... This is where the superficial differences end, and to answer the question, you need to dive deeper into the topic. Such information is of particular value for players who like to combine these disciplines, because after assimilating it, the likelihood of confusing something will be an order of magnitude less. 

Common features

It is best to start your analysis not by spotting differences, but by spotting the same trends. Hold'em and Omaha are very similar in nature and operate according to approximately the same rules

Hold'em and Omaha
  • Before the start of the trade, the participants in the distribution receive starting cards, after which two opponents post the small and big blind in the corresponding positions;
  • Further, the trade is carried out on each of the four circles, while opponents can choose an action between folding, calling, checking and raising;
  • The total pot goes to the player who either pushed other opponents out of the pot or showed the best combination at showdown;
  • Both disciplines use the same combinatorics to determine the winner.

Major differences

There are not so many differences between Hold'em and Omaha. The main difference is mechanics of building a combination... In Texas Hold'em, you can use the entire starting hand and the board to make a winning hand, while in Omaha, you have two hole cards and three cards on the board to make a winning hand.

For clarity, we will give a simple example. Let's say you're playing Omaha and there are four suited cards on the board. Your hand contains a suited ace, but that doesn't mean you have a high flush. You can only use three cards on the board and two from the hand to make a combination, so it will be difficult to take the pot at showdown with a single ace. However, such a hand is good for bluffing, since opponent 100% does not have the first nuts in his hands and you have the opportunity to portray it and squeeze your opponent out of the pot.

The second important difference: in Omaha it is easier to make a high combination, because with 4 cards in hand, it becomes much easier to catch on the board. While in Texas Hold'em, four of four or a straight flush is a big event and a rarity, in Omaha it happens much more often. In addition, in this discipline, there can be a rare situation when a monster draw on the flop will have an equity advantage over a collected made hand.

Aces in Hold'em and Omaha

The big difference between Hold'em and Omaha is the value of the starting hands. If in the first game, pocketing aces practically guarantees a win in the distribution, then in the second discipline it says little before the flop opens. In Omaha, a hand made preflop means almost nothing without a boost on the board, while in Hold'em a high pocket itself has a big chance of winning.

The final difference between Hold'em and Omaha is scales of mathematical variance... Professionals are well aware that when playing two cards, it is easy to encounter deviation in the form of upswings and downstreams, but four cards raise this level to exorbitant heights. Most all-in Omaha is a coin, where the equity between opponents is distributed 50-50 or 60-40. If you are going to connect your career with this game, be sure to prepare a deep bankroll and monitor your emotional stability. This is the only way you will be able to experience firsthand how Hold'em differs from Omaha, and at the same time not be left penniless due to variance.

Read next

Poker strategy: how to play against the fish

Читать следующую

Poker tips for beginners: what should you know at the beginning?

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

en_GBEN

Холдем и Омаха: разница и подобие популярных дисциплин

Многих современных игроков интересует вопрос «Чем отличается Холдем от Омахи?». Это неудивительно, ведь дисциплины пользуются большой популярностью и легко собирают столы на реальные деньги в интернете. Первым на ум приходит очевидный факт, что в Холдеме стартовая рука состоит из двух карт, в то время как в Омахе сразу из четырех. На этом поверхностные отличия заканчиваются, и для ответа на вопрос необходимо погружаться глубже в тему. Особую ценность такая информация имеет для игроков, которым нравится совмещать эти дисциплины, ведь после ее усвоения вероятность что-то перепутать будет на порядок меньше. 

Общие черты

Лучше всего начать анализ не с выявления отличий, а с обнаружения одинаковых тенденций. Холдем и Омаха очень похожи по своей сути и функционируют примерно по одним и тем же правилам

Холдеме и Омахе
  • Перед началом торговли участники раздачи получают стартовые карты, после чего двое оппонентов проставляют малый и большой блайнд на соответствующих позициях;
  • Далее торговля ведется на каждом из четырех кругов, при этом оппоненты могут выбирать действие между фолдом, коллом, чеком и рейзом;
  • Общий банк достается тому игроку, который либо выдавил остальных соперников из банка, либо показал на шоудауне лучшую комбинацию;
  • Для определения победителя обе дисциплины используют одинаковую комбинаторику.

Главные различия

Отличий между Холдемом и Омахой не так уж и много. Основная разница заключается в механике построения комбинации. В Техасском Холдеме для составления выигрышной руки можно использовать всю стартовую руку и общий борд, в то время как в Омахе собирать победный хенд приходится их двух карманных карт и трех карт на доске.

Для наглядности приведем простой пример. Предположим, вы играете в Омаху и на доску легло четыре одномастных карты. Ваша рука содержит мастевой туз, однако это вовсе не означает, что вы имеете старший флеш. Для составления комбинации можно использовать только три карты на борде и две из хенда, поэтому с одним-единственным тузом забрать банк на шоудауне будет сложно. Правда, такая рука неплохо подойдет для блефа, поскольку оппонент 100% не имеет на руках первый натс и вы имеете возможность изобразить его и выдавить соперника из пота.

Второе немаловажное различие: в Омахе легче собрать высокую комбинацию, ведь с наличием 4 карт на руках зацепиться за борд становится гораздо проще. Если в Техасском Холдеме выпадение каре или стрит-флеша является большим событием и редкостью, то в Омахе это происходит гораздо чаще. К тому же, в этой дисциплине может сложиться редкая ситуация, когда монстр-дро на флопе будет иметь перевес по эквити над собранной готовой рукой.

Тузы в Холдеме и Омахе

Серьезным отличием между Холдемом и Омахой является ценность стартовых рук. Если в первой игре выпадение карманных тузов практически гарантирует победу в раздаче, то во второй дисциплине это мало о чем говорит до открытия флопа. В Омахе собранная на префлопе рука практически ничего не значит без усиления на борде, в то время как в Холдеме высокая карманка сама по себе имеет большой шанс на выигрыш.

Финальное различие между Холдемом и Омахой заключается в масштабах математической дисперсии. Профессионалы прекрасно осведомлены о том, что при игра в две карты легко столкнуться с отклонением в виде апсвингов и даунстриков, однако четыре карты поднимают этот уровень до заоблачных высот. Большинство выставлений all-in в Омахе означают монетку, где эквити между оппонентами распределяется 50 на 50 или 60 на 40. Если вы собираетесь связать свою карьеру с этой игрой, обязательно приготовьте глубокий банкролл и отслеживайте свою эмоциональную устойчивость. Только так вы сможете на собственном опыте прочувствовать, чем Холдем отличается от Омахи, и при этом не остаться без гроша из-за дисперсии.

Читать предыдущую

Стратегия в покере: как играть против фишей

Читать следующую

Советы для игры в покер новичкам: что следует знать в начале пути?

Оставить комментарий

Ваш e-mail не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *